Where Has The Music Gone?

Stevo_Singer

Has the music died?  I think not…  Not in me anyway.  However, I have found where ever I go there is no music.  This has been a disturbing feeling in me for some time.  When I was younger, it seemed every where I went, the focal point of everyone of my friends living space was the Stereo.  Whether it was a console unit (always modified for maximum output) or a Ala Carte set up.  It was either Sony, Pioneer, Akai or the ever coveted QuadraFlex or Bose (which I had).  Maximum Wattage for Maximum feel of the sound!  It was either Country music or Rock N Roll loud enough to knock the crystal of the neighbors shelfs three apartments down (no seriously, I was evicted from an apartment, not because I wasn’t able to turn it down, I just didn’t have the capacity to listen to music at any other level than UP!)…

I find myself this morning in a garage, listening to music on a transistor radio.  tuned in a pretty good Country Station and drift off into a lucid state.  Wondering why my friends don’t even have a stereo in the house.  These the same friends that play music live and have adored music all as much as I do.  Now I was not thinking I’ve been reduced to listening to a transistor radio in a garage, I was drifting back to a time when this is what one did to listen to what one wanted to.  Mom and dad had full range over the music on the console and forbid rock n roll or anything other than Hank Williams, Gershwin, Glen Miller, Dexter Gordon of which I have very much learned to appreciate present day…  So one would go to the garage or to the Tree Fort we constructed and ran dads construction extension cord so we could have just that  MUSIC!!!

We would listen to over the border Pirate Stations like XERB Wolf Man Jack… and many others.  Music was life and the main stay of conversation. It was status, it was playing drums or trumpet or sax in school band and after school guitar in the garage driving the neighbors crazy…We all have our favorites and we all have our memories.  As I sit in a garage playing in my mind memories of my life to that ol country song I wonder.  I think of my best friend, where is she now and what is she doing.  If I’d rode up with long hair and my Justin Boots and tight Jeans, think she’d go for a ride?  What fun we had polishing off that pint of fine Tennessee Bourbon just as the edge gave way and we both slipped off into the creek… Now there’s a big smile memory…

Ahhh, Memories, all of which are wrapped around the music I play,  written, or listen to…  But one thing is fer sure and certian for this ol boy, Music is a huge part of it all.  Sometimes smiles, sometimes tears may fall wrapped around the same thought… Music is my life and for sure has been what keeps my heart beating and broken…   Ahh, don’t worry, broken hearts are a part of life that smiles are built on… What doesn’t kill ya will make ya stronger….  So happens I’m pretty damn alive! and even stronger than I’ve ever been… My Faith in God is what gives me Life… My love for him gives me Love… and My Love for Music will breath life into me forever…

Well folks… I’m off to play music… some some with my heart, my fingers, my mind but mostly with my heart and memories… Man ya gotta love life…  even the weird times can make ya smile… well after ya go whoa… LoL…

Be well… God Bless…

Peace…

4 thoughts on “Where Has The Music Gone?

  1. I’m not loving this. You leave allot of details out. You have a radio/cd player in ‘your room’. Sorry it’s not a Bose system, but it’s what we had and put it in your room so you could listen to what ever you wanted, whenever you wanted to. Trying our best to make you happy and comfortable friend, but I have to say ….I’m not down for this ‘self sabotage’ … ‘I think I’ll go live in the streets’ trip you are on. You said “the streets are calling me so I have to go see whats out there for me” …I don’t agree, but you are grown and can make your own decisions. We are just friends trying to help a friend in need. I’ll stop my rant before I say something, we can only do so much, and are doing all we can ………………… Peace, Positive energy and Blessings, ~ Erica

    • Hi Erica… Oh my, this deeply saddens me, Please let me explain…. this is a story of the “love I had for listening to a cheap transistor radio in my youth.” Or one of the things anyway… To this day I “love” the small speaker sound over a work bench in a garage, or anywhere you might be, especially on a checkerboard blanket in a park on a lazy Sunday Afternoon. The reference of listening to the radio in the garage was a statement of happy, love I really dig that… Please read that again… ** when I state my friends… it is not referenced to you. there is no reference to any one person… my “friends”? This is a satire and had nothing to do with “my” living space, It’s a Story…

      Your Generosity is not a question here… What you and Michael have done for me far surpasses any Bose system or a golden transistor radio on the planet… the Stereo system theme was in memory of the center piece of our homes when we were young. Not like now where everyone we know it’s either a 52 inch flat screen with surround sound for the center piece of the “TV”… As for my search for what’s in the streets is strictly for my source of inspiration for creative growth in what I search for in everything I do “music”… I never in anyway thought I was being forced there or am in anyway sabotaging myself. After reading again I think where you may think this was directed to you…

      “Wondering why my friends don’t even have a stereo in the house. These the same friends that play music live and have adored music all as much as I do.”

      This statement was not directed to you or Michael at all. Actually I wasn’t even thinking about and forgot Michael Is a Professional Musician. To be honest, when I see what he has accomplished I feel like I’m not trying hard enough. He’s done it. The reason he doesn’t now is his choice. Because he’s happy with his life as it is… This was actually about just about every friends house I’ve been in for many years now, but I see it offended you… It was Not meant to offend or disrespect… It was only a story thinking back and remembering the awesomeness of the stereo’s we all had and would play rather than watch TV… I’m so sorry that you are offended by this it was never by any means meant to disrespect or offend anyone especially You one of my oldest and treasured friends… I love and respect you and Michael dearly. This deeply saddens me that I was trying to reflect back on a time that I loved and and treasured and it was translated as a disrespect and that I felt I wasn’t being treated well… This is not what this was… Please Forgive me, and a most Humble Public Apology…

      The streets do call me. I grew up in the street. If not the Street it was Foster Homes… Alot of people really don’t know the me of my youth. Probably because of this very reason, I’m often misunderstood… Everyone thinks I lived with my Mother in Thousand Oaks… Yes I was there now and then. I think Geno and Doug are the few that know I was really hardly ever there. When I was in Thousand Oaks in the Years, My Mother lived there yes… But I was a run away from Foster Care in Simi Valley… I Was thirteen ran from Foster care (in a different abusive Foster House in Simi) and hitch hiked to Florida and half way back…. Now there was a very cool time in my life… I loved that year… So… I don’t look at life the same as many, but in the same sense, very much the same with a different twist. I really do Cherish my friends. It’s really the foundation of Family for me…

      My Point. Erica… I would just as soon cut off my thumbs than disrespect You or Michael…
      for this I am sad.. But you must admit… how many of our friends have a Stereo like the old days… Everything we did was wrapped around music… From Rock (it’s now called classic rock… lol) to Hard Acid rock when we would party… We would blare our car stereo’s at the beach… It was all about music…

      Blessings and Peace to you and Michael…
      You Guys are forever my Heroes…

  2. OK<~Now I feel stupid, I just care about my friends and don't want them to be sad.. Please delete if you want….I had a 'female' moment

    • I love you… and I understand… I know it’s hard watching friends in trouble, but know you have been there for me (not just this time) for me the intire (ok I’m not going to say how many hundreds of years LoL) life… I’ve always loved you girl, your the best sister I could have ever prayed for… I know I’m pig headed and do stupid stuff including hurt myself when it could be avoided. I just can’t stop kick’n… It’s real hard for me… Thank You my dear friend, and I would never delete any part of our frinedship… We’ve faced some stuff, you’ve seen me bright and been there when my heart was broken and bleeding on the ground. And there is no other friend that would do what you’ve done for me no matter how upset… I’m pretty sure that God is a Woman and you are the role model.. The worlds best Mom, and a better friend there is not…

      Peace…

      and for you my dear readers… I hope you have a friend that is as devoted and can publicly let me know how stupid I can be… and someday I will post just how that came to be… I am truly loved… Peace and Love… God Bless…

Leave a Reply

