The Life & Times of Stevo… & A Time For Thanks…

I don’t really expect anyone to really read this.  It was more like therapy and just working the brain muscle.  It’s long and unless you have a free spirit and care to mottle thru my life I understand… Pretty much My Life and giving thanks for all my adventures, good and bad…   Peace.
2918 words and a video… hehehe…
=======================

How often do you give thanks?  I mean we all say “Thank You” but is that the same as giving thanks?  Oh the questions that roll thru the mind and a Saturday evening.  I was thinking of my life over the last year.  Incredible!  Just a few months shy of one year ago, I found myself in a position I’m really not used to.  Well, at least those short months ago.  It’s short compared to a lifetime of events good or bad.  Late August of last year I found myself with no Job, Cancer (preventing me from working in my field of work, Transportation), A blown out back and no retirement or savings due to dealing with, said cancer, in the passed.

It seemed like the end of the world.  Well that was nothing compared to what was about to unfold, as I should have known better than to think any Adventure could present itself depending on how I focused my attention.  Somehow I found myself in panic mode and that’s when it all started to tumble down hill.  It seemed to amaze me and there I have no idea how that could be, I know better and I did it anyway.  So I found myself in a real tight place.  I was truly homeless, in the outside, no money, no food no visible means of making either one of those happen…

It’s only now I look back and see how it all worked.  In my life I’ve made so many awesome friends, no more than that, family.  When word was out I was in trouble the calls for assistance rolled in.  Only… I… resisted.  I did not want to become someone’s burden.  Not that I wouldn’t or I haven’t helped a friend in need, food, shelter, a hand up, on many occasions I was there to lend a hand.  For some reason I would not let that happen for me.  So what was it that would keep me from letting my brothers and sisters helping me.  I have been all over this planet, literally, and I’ve seen the good live good and the bad live bad, the folks that just settle for a refrigerator box palace and the ones that just gave up.  In the streets I’ve experienced the blank stare of a man that has just given up hope.  Alcohol, Drugs?  Of course… A Drunk, Alcoholic before misfortune just kept rolling on.  Could this person have changed his future before he wound up against a block wall on skid row in any city/town USA?  Of course… I saw this look too many times.  I was petrified, could I be that man?

When I was a small boy my Mother would tell me of my organic Father.  I’ve never met the man.  All I know is she would tell me he was cruel, alcoholic bastard…  I would ask where he lived and she would tell me, Skid Row… I remember as a teen, I ran away (pretty much have been on my own since) I was thirteen,  I was tired of being beaten by a stepfather that was no different from what my mother said my Father was like.  Brutal beatings…  my best friend was over and I asked him if he wanted to run away with me, he said cool so we both said later!  and I laughed as I walked down the street to the on ramp, with my guitar case in hand and my best friend, and that was it…  I would say that was either 1969 or 70… 1st stop LA.  I had asked a guy that picked us up if he knew where Skid-Row was and he informed me that most big cities have a Skid-Row and only then did I understand the meaning of Skid-Row.

We wound up in Hollywood and I mean to tell ya this was life.   I would be a lire if I said I didn’t find my way into what was called then, the Hippie Scene.  The Love was everywhere and the drugs flowed like water down a clear mountain stream.  LSD, Speed, Weed, Cocaine and just about every other drug that was offered.  And you know a boy sitting in the park playing original music sitting in the park, I met so many cool people.  But then the cruel reality of the “Uncool” came upon my like a freight train.  Turns out I was a very good fighter and even though I had a baby face, at thirteen I was almost 6 ft tall.  Turns Out I could fight pretty darn ok.  let’s just say I held my own.  I figured it’s time to leave this scene, and after almost a month Ace wanted to go home so we parted ways (we are still very close friends today).

Ok, So what the hell do I do know? I’m sure not going home, what home I thought.  At least out here I feel safe and don’t have to worry about someone that is supposed to protect me beat my face in (literally).  I drew my own destiny out here… So I thought, I just wander around a bit.  Hell, Florida sounds good.  So off to the on ramp I went.  It’s strange, back then ya really didn’t have to worry much about who picked you up.  Hell I was picked up in a Rolls by David Janssen, he was pretty cool, and it wasn’t his Rolls and somehow I got the feeling he didn’t ask permission to drive it… You would know him as the star of  the first Fugitive movie.  Nice Kat… Can’t remember the exact convo but I do remember he know what I was up to and tried to talk some sense into me but when the story was out he was cool and gave me a ride almost to palm springs.

I remember it took almost two days to walk from that point to the state line.  Thru the desert at night was freaky, to say the least, I didn’t sleep until I found safety by the river at the Cali Arizona state line.  Much happened on this adventure and if I went thru it piece by piece it would be at least 10,000 words, at this point I’m at 1089, so I’ll spare you the fairly un eventful experiences across this country, however I made it to Clearwater Florida in pretty good time.  Only took a week and a half and there I was.  Showering and washing my cloths at night with the beach showers.  It was cool, a pole sticking up in the middle of the beach with shower heads, it was warm at night, my cloths dried before the sun came up.  Nice…

So there I am sitting on a bench on the boardwalk (or what ever they called it), Playing my guitar and this old dude comes up and sits next to me.  He compliments me on my playing and I notice all the cute girls are saying Good morning George, so I could safely assume his name was George.  He’s puff’n on a fat cigar and just listening to me play and watch the babe’s skating and riding down the walk.  It was a nice morning, not to hot , not all that humid.  After the introductions I had a very cool conversation with George, I do not sensor my blog so I will not get into that except, let’s say, it was a learning experience and use this advise (or not) to this day.  He was also the deciding factor to heading back west.  I spent about a week in Clearwater and met a ton of really cool Kats and Chicks.

Suffice as to say, I made it back west, after being arrested in New Mexico for Vagrancy, at almost 14, and got a bus ticket back to Simi Valley California.  From there it was a few Foster Homes.  Had to bail from the first Home, the guy there smacked me in the head for listening to Burn Down the Mission, Elton John… After sleeping in cars and boiler rooms and a few friends that would keep me safe, I met Julie Sigona.  I’m don’t really remember how I met her but I had a huge crush on her.  Well she was outta my league but her brothers were real cool and her mom and dad took me in.  Mom and Pop Sigona were the coolest and most influential people in my life, even cooler Julie and I are still friends.  Way to long since I’ve seen any of my friends…  I would play handball with Pops and he kicked my ass every time.  There was no mercy and he would make sure I got that exercise I needed.  I had gotten pretty lazy.  The drugs stopped staying with the Sigona’s and there was no contract, the only thing was, if I stay I stay, there was no in and out, on and off the street.  What fun Mom made for her Children and all friends.  We had sparkling apple cider champagne (no alcohol) we would have air guitar and air band contests on Saturday nights, as well as I would play for the gang, along with a few other musician friends, and John (oldest Sigona Son) was a great musician… I loved his style.  I remember every Christmas bringing a half gallon of Egg Nogg and Next years Calendar for Christmas to the doorstep…

Speaking of living life, I got the patriot bug and joined the Army before I got drafted.  I really don’t want to elaborate here, not only is this blog not censored, but I still live the regret of taking human life.  Oh, I’ve delt with God on the matter and am assured I’m forgiven, I think in some way I can ever forgive myself for making the decision to Kill…  To the point of thinking it was, I hesitate to say, let’s just say, I got used to it and could do it again… and sleep well…  Or could I???  I would rather keep that to the side and talk to God personally about that… for now… Peace…

I had a most awesome time growing thru my twenties and what I remember are the songs I played.  My thirties were awesome, went to jail a few times, nothing serious but it was bad enough.  I was so lucky, or what ever you want to call it.  I had my share of bad stuff, drugs, fighting but the bad parts were so minor and it was in a time when men would just shake hands after a brawl or decide to stay out of each others way.  Hell, one of my best friends kicked my ass pretty good, and why wouldn’t I want someone on my side that could kick my ass… 🙂  I took on the road in my late twenties all the way thru till I was 55 and can’t drive anymore.  I’ve been on every major Interstate Hiway, and most US Hi-ways, Canada and Alaska.  From 9 to 21 speeds.  Like the song says, “I’ve been from Tucson to Tucumcari, Tehachapi to Tonapah, I’ve driven every kind of rig that’s ever been made… I’ve driven the back roads so I wouldn’t get weighed, and I’m still, Willin…

With over 4 million miles driven, I’ve had so many adventures and made friends and a few, well not enemies, lets just say we avoid contact.  I’ve made and lost a few dollars Loved and lost, Loved and gained.  Anyway you look at it there are many stories in here.  Fought and won, fought and lost but still I’m alive… I’ll be 56 in 13 days…  I often wonder how I made it this far.  I know I feel every bit of life I’ve lived and if I had it to do over again… Hell No!  You couldn’t pay me enough to go thru that again… hahaha… Seriously, I’ve lived a good life and expect I’ll do the same till it’s time for me to go back home…  I expect I’ll be Play’n this ol guitar too, writing songs about love and life, and maybe only a small circle of friends will ever hear any of these tunes and that’s ok by me.  I was talking with my brother Rob, I said, “If all ever do is drink sweet tea and sit on a porch and the passers by nod and wave, that’s good enough for me.”  But I’ll be Play’n…  Hands are get’n numb, fingers are lock’n up, there’s open tunings I use quite regularly now days.  Pain or not… I’m play’n… My Brother Ron is the same… Hell, he had his hand severed clean off, almost 30 hours of surgery later, hand sown back on, and he’s still a better guitarist than I am on my best day…   But I’ll keep playing and giving thanks…

Thanks to My son Josh for trying, Thanks to his Wife Jenn, My only Daughter, she was most awesome and put up with this old man, thanks to my 2nd wife for rescuing me.  Thanks to my best friend Ace for saving the day and providing me with shelter, his wife Susan for helping me in a difficult time.  One of my Besties, Erica for shelter and food for the time I needed… My good friend Chris and his Aunt Franky (Francine), coming to the rescue big time!… To my Brothers of the Sound & blood, Rob and Ron for taking on this challenge… Hope this works…  Thanks Mom for bringing me into this awesome Life, I’m still having a blast!  Thanks Pat for Loving me so purely and so hard.  I can say there’s not another man on this planet that has been loved so by one so awesome, I still feel the dreams.  And as ol Waylon says, I’ll miss, Dreaming my Dreams, with you, you are the best… and Christine, thanks for loving me and keeping me an honest man, I could fall hard for a girl like you.  I know it sounds weird and please take this with the love it’s meant.  You are the only one that measures up…  Doesn’t matter who’s ready or not… our relationship is perfect.  I know I have another BFF!  (guys can say stupid stuff to girls but I mean that in a way that is from my heart)…  Humble Thanks to God, Thank you for keeping your grip on me.  Don’t think I couldn’t feel that grip keeping me out of so many ditches.  Keeping my head above water and bringing angels to me to show me the way when I was blinded by drugs and attitude.  I’m so grateful for this life you’ve blessed me with so many joys.  With the music you give me, I can only play to the rhythm your glory…  It’s what keeps me whole… Praise God and thank you so much…  Jesus is truly my mentor to your will…  Thank You!!!  Giving thanks is truly saying “Thank You”…  which Brings me to Lean on Me… Oh Yeah… Sing it!!!

Bill Withers – Lean on me
Says Michel Buble but it’s Bill Withers…

Sometimes in our lives, we all have pain, we all have sorrow.
But if we are wise, we know that there’s always tomorrow.
Lean on me, when you’re not strong and I’ll be your friend.
I’ll help you carry on,
for it won’t be long ’til I’m gonna need
somebody to lean on.
Please swallow your pride, if have things you need to borrow.
For no one can fill those needs that you won’t let show.

You just call on me brother when you need a hand.
We all need somebody to lean on.
I just might have a problem that you’ll understand.
We all need somebody to lean on.

Lean on me when you’t not strong, and I’ll be your friend.
I’ll help you carry on, for it won’t be long ’til I’m gonna’ need
somebody to lean on.

You just call on me brother if you need a hand.
We all need somebody to lean on.
I just might have a problem that you’ll understand.
We all need somebody to lean on.

If there is a load you have to bear that you can’t carry.
I’m right up the road, I’ll share your load if you just call me.

Call me ( if you need a friend)
Call me

God Bless….

Peace…

Stevo…

8 thoughts on “The Life & Times of Stevo… & A Time For Thanks…

    • Wow! thanks so much! the last award I received was my Marksman Pin in the Army, and that was some time ago… No wait, I received a 3 million miles no accidents award… and the last million was the same… 🙂 again… thank you…

  1. Hey Brother! I thought I was the “long-winded” one! Is this a competition, come on, you can tell me!! LOL! No seriously Brother, it is awesome to see your testimony and to see the transparency of the heart.
    You know the Bible tells us that man looks on the outward appearance but God looks at the heart! When Samuel said that, the first time I read it, it literally changed my life. The reason being is that from that time on, I tore off the mask that kept people away and opened up my heart for all to see. Why? Because if my Heavenly Father already sees me without the mask, what does it matter to allow my brothers and sisters and the world to see me for who I am?
    Anyway, it would be real easy to go on and on, for now just suffice it to know that I appreciate what you put out there and I’m truly inspired and encouraged! I sincerely and truly pray that God blesses you so abundantly that you wonder what happened! ‘Til later my brother!

  2. I’ve read each and every word friend. I’ll be your friend and I’m a broke one myself…but ill say with confidence that I know you as a man of great value and overstanding of true wealth… may Jesus give you more than you need buddy, excellent wealth…what a privilege to discover you…after reading this, my comment about the greyhound made me laugh out loud… great read!!!!

Leave a Reply

