Sound of Silence

Greetings and Salutations to all that would read these ramblings of a Reluctant Musician.  As those that read these musings know, I DJ a Radio Show on KYXZ-LP 107.9 FM, Grover Beach California 8pm to Midnight on Saturday Nites.  I also Engineer, and a general pain in the ass for the host of The Rockin’ K’s (Bill Kirkpatrick) oldies show Tuesdays, Noon to 3pm… LoL.. We have a ton of fun…

In Getting ready for my show I’m doing the usual research and deciding just how in depth I’m going to get as there is a message with every show.  I never reveal the message  but I will name a theme, as this weeks theme is Rock Chicks (don’t be offended Girlies, With out Rock Chicks where would we be, and if it’s not PC, then, well, It’s not meant that way, so get over it… hahahahaha) to hear this weeks message, y’all are gonna have to listen 😉

I digress,… as I’m rolling thru tons of music, out of the corner of my eye I see “The Sound of Silence” …. Classic Simon and Garfunkel tune… Great Great song.  This song for me (as many songs do) carry a few different messages.  There’s the overall message of how no, or poor, communication is bringing, not just our nation but, the planet to a bad place.  There must be communication…  However…  In Silence… There is a creative force that is deafening, especially if it comes in the form of a tsunami, all of the sudden heavy metal now.  Or from the distance, from an artificial horizon comes a whisp, simple and flowing, a growing into a symphony of pure bright sound… From Silence…

Then a breath… The sound of an overhead jet plane, gentle tingles from the breeze tickling the wind chimes. The sun on your face as the breeze rolls over your body, and, Freedom… Pure Release, and in another breath, one reaches for the memory and to keep that silent bliss alive…

But it Fades, fades into a humble numb, a melancholy memory of what once was.  Then, from a sheepish grin, an almost sinister one side of the mouth Grin… I can do this again, in a song, “The Deafening Sound of Silence, Take me Home”

So, find your silence.  And whatever color, sound or motion you create from that silence, Bring it out! Sing it out! it’s how we grow as a people. We learn from each other and expand our Love for Life and the reach for Freedom…  What ever it is you bring… Bring it Proud…

Peace & Love…

 

Leave a comment